Who Needs Self-Discipline?

God has been dealing with me about self-discipline for the last few months. We have all been created for a special purpose and been given the gifts and talents needed to fulfill that purpose. It is up to us to exercise the discipline needed to follow the path laid out for us.

All of my life I have known there was a reason for my existence. There were days when I struggled to believe it, but deep down always knew that I was not here by accident. For many years it seemed to me that bringing my beautiful daughter, Asia into the world was my purpose. Recently I have discovered that God has a purpose for my life as well.

My daughter was called to go to YWAM (Youth With A Mission) at the end of 2010. I was very grateful that God had captured her heart and put my energy into helping her follow her path. Again, I thought my purpose was to help her succeed. After she left for her first mission, there was a period of time when I wondered what was next. There were days when I missed her so much it seemed almost too much to bear.

Over the five months Asia was gone, God started to lead me to seek Him and the plan He had for my life. I soon realized that I was floating around aimlessly waiting for God to drop His plan in my lap. That wasn’t really working for me. I started to get serious and disciplined in pursuing Him every day and that is when things started to happen. One of my dear friends has a saying, “We need to be ready in the natural, so God can put His Super on our natural.” This really resonated with me and I began to get serious about doing what was laid before me and pursuing discipline.

As I began to seek God in earnest and the plan He had for me, He began to reveal the way He wanted me to serve Him. He had set me free from the fear and the guilt that I had ruined the plan He had for my life by all the mistakes I had made. He told me to share what He had done for me with others. We can’t keep what God has given us unless we give it away.

A scripture that has carried me through when I feel like what He’s asked me to do is too hard for me is Nehemiah 6:3 “And I sent messengers to them saying, I am doing a great work and cannot come down. Why should the work stop while I leave to come down to you?” When distractions come we need to stop and ask ourselves is this really something I need to do or is this something being used to keep me from finishing the work that I  have been called to do.

God makes it very clear in His word that we need to have discipline in life to pursue His purpose for us.

Hebrews 12:11 “For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.”

Proverbs 25:28 “A man without self-control is like a city broken into and left without walls.”

1 Corinthians 9:25 “Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable.”

There are many more scriptures that speak to us about having self-control and seeking discipline. I have also discovered that we need balance in our discipline. The story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10:38-42 illustrates clearly that there are times when we can be too busy doing. The key is being open to the leading of the Holy Spirit. The only way to be open is to spend time with God and listen to what He has to say. Psalms 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God…”

Is there something that you have a passion to do that keeps being put on the back burner?

I encourage you to read the prologue of my upcoming book.  You can do so by clicking on the tab at the top of the webpage.  In addition, I would love your support in pre-ordering a copy of my book.  You can do that in the tab at the top of the web page.

2 thoughts on “Who Needs Self-Discipline?

  1. Yes Tammy there has been a couple of things that I have been passion about and put on the back burner, of course with all the excuses to goes along with why I did not pursue them…Because of this post I will prayerfully revisit them.
    For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline… 2 Timothy 1:7
    Thank you for your post

Leave a Reply

