A Life Well-Lived

I recently had the opportunity to attend the life celebration of a dear friend’s brother. He had struggled with cancer and finally lost the battle. I didn’t know him, but went to support my dear friend. Knowing what to say to someone who is grieving the loss of a loved one has never been my strong suit.

When I entered the room where the service was to be held, I thought for a moment that I had the wrong room. Everyone was dressed in bright colors and there was island music playing. Along the side wall was more junk food than I had ever seen before.  My friend ran up to hug me and thank me for coming to support her and she explained that all the food that was being served was all her brother’s favorite things. He had helped plan everything to make sure everyone would be comfortable and have fun.

The service started and they started talking about this amazing young man who had spent his life enjoying every moment. It was truly a celebration of a life well-lived. He had gone out of his way to make life better for those around him. He had also spent his last days trying to keep his loved ones laughing and enjoying the time he had left.

As I sat there watching the service I started to think about my life and how much time I had spent waiting to live. I had lived based on what I thought others expectations were and had been waiting for permission to live my life for most of my life. This had made me bitter and resentful for many years. As I heard about this young man’s life I thought this is how I want to be remembered when my time comes. I want people to look back and celebrate the life I lived. I want people to be better for having known me.

I left being challenged not to waste another moment of this precious life I’ve been given. It was not what I expected from the day. I had gone expecting to give support, but got much more from them than I gave.

What are you waiting for permission to do in your life?

Leave a Reply

