Archive | April 22, 2012

Are You Still Dreaming?

Do you have dreams you have given up on? Recently I have come to realize that I have lived most of my life allowing myself to be trapped by others expectations. I had abandoned my dreams and focused on helping my daughter achieve hers. After all, it was too late for me or so I thought. I had gotten old before my time.

Last night I finally watched the movie Field of Dreams. It made me think about my life and the dreams that had gone by the wayside. I started to think of some of the people around me that have seemingly given up on their dreams. There are so many people that have abandoned their dreams and are struggling to survive day to day. My heart goes out to every person that crosses my path who has clearly allowed life to overtake them.

This last year I have allowed my passion for life to return. It has been an amazing journey as God has begun to reveal who He created me to be. He has created us all with a specific purpose in mind. We truly start to live when we step out in faith to become the person He created us to be.

Many of us allow what others think to determine what we do in life. Imagine how Joseph must have felt when he shared the vision God had given him with his brothers and then they wanted to kill him. Think about how hard it must have been for Noah to continue to build the ark when others around him were most likely ridiculing him. Jesus was rejected by the very people He came to save. Each one of these people did not allow others to keep them from doing what God had called them to do.

When we make living for God our top priority that is when we begin to truly be free. He created us and knows more about us than anyone including us. When we accept this fact, follow His leading and stop worrying about what others think than great things begin to happen.

What dreams have you abandoned? Are you ready to start partnering with God to bring them back to life? Please share your struggles and victories here so that others can be encouraged.  If this has touched you please feel free to share it with others. As always your prayers and support are much appreciated.