Releasing

I was at a seminar last week and one of the speakers made a comment that stuck with me. He said that he had a goal to release twenty pounds this year. He said he liked that word because when he loses things he usually ends up finding them. It started me thinking about all the things that we need to release in our lives.

We need to release our fear, guilt, shame, anger, resentment, worry, pride and many other things that keep us from the walk that God has called us to. So many times, we hold ourselves back from moving forward simply because we choose to hold onto something that God has called us to let go of.

We hold on tightly sometimes to things that God has made clear we need to release. For years I held onto how I thought members of my family should treat me. It kept me from enjoying them they way they were; the way God had created them. Sometimes I held onto relationships that God was telling me to let go of. It wasn’t until I let go of those people that God was able to move on my behalf. I held onto dreams that God was telling me to let go of. I didn’t realize that what God had for me was so much better than what I thought I wanted.

This does not mean that we shouldn’t dream but that we need to release our dreams into God’s hand. When we humble ourselves and allow God to take control; that is when He is free to really make things work. The bible is loaded with examples of people who laid down their dreams so God could do mighty things.

Joseph is one of my favorites. God gave him a dream that his family would serve him. After sharing this dream with his brothers, they plotted to kill him and ended up selling him into slavery. I imagine he wondered how this dream would ever come true. Paul is another person who had set out to do God’s work. He thought killing Christians was serving God. God had to strike him down and give him a new purpose for his life. If Paul had not been willing to let go of his idea of what he was supposed to do, God wouldn’t have been able to use him the way he did.

Proverbs 19:21 says “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s prupose that prevails.”

When we release what we think the outcome should be, it gives God the power to do much more than we could ever imagine.

What are you holding onto that God has told you to release?

Leave a Reply

