Different Paths continued…

Finally I have an opportunity to continue the subject I started last week.

It is so easy to criticize other people’s beliefs when they are different from what we were raised to believe. When I made a decision to really become a disciple of Christ, the church that appealed most to me was a non-denominational church. It still seemed there was an attitude of competition with other churches even there.

As I began to study the Bible for myself, I stumbled across this passage of scripture. Phillipians 1:15-18 15  “It’s true that some are preaching out of jealousy and rivalry. But others preach about Christ with pure motives. 16 They preach because they love me, for they know I have been appointed to defend the Good News. 17 Those others do not have pure motives as they preach about Christ. They preach with selfish ambition, not sincerely, intending to make my chains more painful to me. 18 But that doesn’t matter. Whether their motives are false or genuine, the message about Christ is being preached either way, so I rejoice. And I will continue to rejoice.”

This scripture reveals to me that if someone is preaching the message of salvation that is what is most important.  I started to realize that maybe some of the things we were fighting about weren’t worth the battle. It seemed we were losing more than we were gaining. I can now say that I have finally become a member of a church that seeks to connect with other churches in the community and doesn’t work to compete with them. This has made a much bigger impact on the community and I am looking forward to seeing more people come to change their views on what God is all about.

As always your feedback is welcomed. I will continue on this subject in the coming days. Thank you for all your support.

Leave a Reply

