Taking Constructive Criticism

As many of you know, I have recently stepped out and written a book. This book was something I’ve been speaking about for twenty years. Finally, God lit a fire in me and made it clear that now was the time to write it. He gave me a great sense of urgency to get the message out about what He has been doing in my life.

There have been many that have encouraged me along my journey, and then there are the critics. It seems funny that it is so easy to listen to the people that have negative things to say, rather than believe the people who tell you the good things. Perhaps it’s the enemy working to discourage me, or maybe it is unbelief rearing its ugly head again. Did God really speak to me? Can God really use me?

In any case, the struggle to listen to criticism without feeling personally attacked can be difficult. How does one sift through all the information coming in and discern what is important and what should be discarded? It’s certainly important to learn how to grow and improve ourselves, but when it starts becoming an obsession something is wrong.

Today, I’m choosing to make peace with the fact that my book is published. It’s out there and it is touching people; giving them hope and igniting a desire to know God in a new and  deeper way. That was the purpose of sharing my testimony. I want people to know that they are not alone in their struggles, and God can come into their lives and completely redeem anything that seems less than perfect. (Joel 2:25 “I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten–the great locust and the young locust, the other locusts and the locust swarm–my great army that I sent among you.”)

Do I think there is much that I can learn about being a writer? Yes, absolutely! It is an exciting time and I can’t wait to learn and build upon the gift of writing that God has given me. So here’s to enjoying the journey!

How do you choose to view criticism? Do you allow others criticism to stop you from moving boldy forward?

Please share your thoughts; it would be wonderful to hear suggestions from others on dealing with criticism.

One thought on “Taking Constructive Criticism

  1. I beleive constructive criticism is designed to help us grow in whatever we are doing because we are not perfect vessels. Therefore we should accept constructive criticism with a positive attitude and self evaluation.

Leave a Reply

