Perfectionism

Perfectionism can rob you of the ability to complete things. There is nothing wrong with wanting to do things with excellence, but we need to be careful that our need to be perfect is not keeping us from getting things done. Perfectionism is the mother of procrastination.

How many things do we put off doing because we decide we don’t have the time to complete them perfectly? This was my experience many times. The house wouldn’t get cleaned because I decided it had to be cleaned perfectly or I couldn’t start it at all.  I couldn’t start a project or write a book because there wasn’t enough time to do it perfectly.

Joyce Meyer has a saying that I just love, “God uses cracked pots!” Every time she says it, I’m reminded that God can use us most when we realize that we don’t have it all together. God shines through our imperfection; we block His effectiveness when we are trying to show that we have got it all going on. It has become apparent to me, that people relate to my message when it isn’t polished and perfect. When I lay down myself and my pride, God is able to speak through me.

Many times we lose people when we look too polished and professional. People may not identify with us if we seem like we have it all together. A verse that keeps coming to me is I Corinthians 1:27, “But God has chosen the foolish things of the world to put to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to put to shame the things which are mighty; and the base things of the world and the things which are despised God has chosen.”

We should give our best to God, but when we make it all about ourselves and our image it often takes away from God. God keeps reminding me to seek His approval and not the approval of man. God uses me when I humble myself, empty myself of myself and allow Him to speak through me.

 What is God calling you to do today, that you are putting off until the timing is just right?  What are you holding onto because it’s not quite perfect yet?

Leave a Reply

