Not Defined by Our Past

Today, I was taking a closer look at the genealogy of Christ. It’s amazing when you realize that there are only five women mentioned in the genealogy and of the five, four women were highly improbable ancestors of a King. Tamar disguised herself as a prostitute and seduced her father-in-law to conceive an heir, Rahab was a prostitute, Bathsheba committed adultery and became pregnant to King David, and Ruth was a Moabite.

All of these women had very questionable beginnings and yet God chose them to be ancestors to the King of Kings. In light of this knowledge there is no one that can use the excuse that God can’t use them because of choices they have made in their past.

The thing that sets these women apart as extraordinary is the fact that they all had uncompromising faith in God. God gave them a place of honor because they chose to trust in Him. This really shows us just how little our past has to do with our future when we ask God to come in and transform our lives. It truly has nothing to do with us, except a willingness to lay down who we are and receive the beautiful gift of our savior.

This makes me think of David when he says in Psalm 139:6 “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is too high, I cannot attain to it.” It leads me to truly know that I still do not comprehend how much our Heavenly Father loves us and that He can and will do anything to show us this extraordinary love. He is simply waiting for us to receive what He has given to us in abundance.

Joel 2: 25-27 25 “The Lord says, “I will give you back what you lost to the swarming locusts, the hopping locusts, the stripping locusts, and the cutting locusts.It was I who sent this great destroying army against you. 26 Once again you will have all the food you want, and you will praise the Lord your God, who does these miracles for you. Never again will my people be disgraced.
27 Then you will know that I am among my people Israel, that I am the Lord your God, and there is no other.
Never again will my people be disgraced.

What is holding you back from receiving God’s transforming power in your life?

Leave a Reply

