Receiving Blessings

Blessings are all around us every day, but I believe we miss them many times because we are closed off to them. Pride plays a big role in our lack of receiving the blessings that are right in front of us. My family and I struggled financially for many years. During this time, I kept looking for God to move on our behalf by giving us an abundance of money so that we would be able to help ourselves. I prayed that we would win the lottery, or we would land that job that would supply everything we needed. The key here is that I expected God to provide for our needs in a way that didn’t require me to humbly receive this blessing from Him. Receiving from God in this way would not have required me to trust in Him and Him alone as my provider.

This week I have been blessed by pet sitting in a beautiful home with a pool that is on the water. This has been a week of refreshing for my spirit. Just a few years ago, this would not have been an enjoyable experience for me because of my lack of self-worth. My time would’ve been spent worrying that something was going to go wrong and not feeling deserving of this opportunity. All the joy would’ve been lost in that worry. During this week, God has filled me with awe at His supplying this opportunity to me and I have been enjoying every moment of this much needed time of refreshing. This has been like a vacation that I would not have had access to in my current circumstances. Then it occurred to me that God supplies us with blessings constantly, but usually we can’t see them because we are too concerned with what we think we need to receive to enjoy what He has supplied in the present moment.

As a child, I remember my mother was not able to receive a gift from anyone without doing something in return. Growing up and seeing this, I decided that it was somehow wrong to receive from someone without giving them something in return. This seems like such a small thing, until you realize that Satan can use that belief to paralyze us. In fact, this is what many of us believe. We say we receive the free gift of salvation, but then work hard to show that we somehow deserve it. Many of us were taught that we needed to spend our life here on earth paying God back for His goodness. The truth is that we can never do enough good to receive what Jesus did for us. Once we truly receive and understand this fundamental truth, then we will be able to give that love to others without expecting something in return. That is the way God intended us to live on this earth.

God reveals this to us in several passages of the Bible. John 15:5: “I am the vine and you are the branches. Whoever remains in me, and I in him, will bear much fruit; for you can do nothing without me.” In Ephesians 3:19 “Yes, may you come to know his (Jesus) love – although it can never be fully known; and so be completely filled with the very nature of God.” In Romans 5:5 “for God has poured out his love into our hearts by means of the Holy Spirit, who is God’s gift to us.”

We need to receive from Him so that we can give out of our abundance. This way we will not grow weary of giving to others, but we have a continuous flow of receiving and giving. We aren’t giving to get, but giving out of a heart of thankfulness for what we have received.

What blessings are you missing today?

Leave a Reply

