Living in Fear

How many times do we hear someone say “I’m afraid …”? Fear seems to be prevalent in this world. We fear we will not have enough money to pay our bills or put food on the table. We fear our kids will not make good choices for their lives. We fear that we will lose our jobs or not be able to find a job when we need one. There are so many things we can choose to fear. What would happen if we started expressing how excited we are about our future? What if we started actually looking for good to happen to us rather than fear the worst?

Most of my life has been spent in fear. My outlook on life was rarely one of looking for good things to happen. This started as a child. My parents would talk about their lack of money almost every day. Unfortunately, when I became an adult I continued this tradition with my daughter.

Recently, we were in a very scary place for me. We were told that our landlord was going to evict us from our home. It was in this place of despair that I found the peace that had eluded me for most of my life. When I finally reached the end of what I could do; God was finally able to take control and show me what He can and will do if we simply get out of His way.

The Bible tells us not to worry time and time again. Most of us have heard Matthew 6:25-34. In this scripture, Jesus says not to worry about our needs. He goes on to say that “if we seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, all these things will be added unto you.” I used to read this passage and think that I must be doing something wrong. This lie held me in bondage for years.

For years I thought that there was some secret formula to receiving from God. If I could only do the right thing then He would bless me. When I finally humbled myself and came to the end of me, God began to show me truth. He showed me that He was not punishing me by withholding my needs because I wasn’t “holy enough”. God began to reveal scriptures to me that showed his true nature. In Jeremiah 29:11, He told me that He had a good plan for my life and plans to prosper me. In Joel 2:25, He says He will repay the years the locusts have eaten. In Genesis, I read about both Abraham and Isaac being blessed and protected after they told their wives to lie for them. Then we see David, the man after God’s own heart. He committed adultery and murdered among many other sins.

Clearly seeking first the Kingdom of God was not about being perfect and God did not punish us for making mistakes. He soon began to reveal that my fear that He was not going to supply for me was the real issue. Most of the things I had feared would happen throughout my life had happened. Slowly He has begun to renew my mind and I have begun to expect good things for my life. My circumstances have not changed overnight, but there have been remarkable changes that can clearly only be God moving on my behalf.

What good things are you expecting to happen to you?

Leave a Reply

