The Life of our Dreams

Dreaming big has always been a part of my life. Many of us dream big but never really step out to make those dreams happen. Living our dreams means saying no to ourselves in many ways. To play big in life we have to continually push past our comfort zone.

Comfort zone has become little more than a buzz word these days, few people understand what it means to step out and be uncomfortable. It means stepping out and doing things when you truly have no idea what the outcome will be. It means setting a goal so big that it makes your palms sweat and your stomach queasy. It means learning to do things we thought we never wanted to. As many of you know I’ve recently embarked on an exciting new journey and into a life that is a little scary to me.

Just a few years ago, I had allowed life to beat me down. I planned to move to Florida and get a cushy little part-time job and fade into oblivion. Maybe I’d go to the beach once in awhile and go to church and maybe help out once in awhile, but really nothing more. I thought my husband would get a great job and I could lay low and be comfortable for the rest of my life.

God had different plans…boy did He ever! Long story short, my husband did get an awesome job, we got a small apartment and I was ready to settle into my simple little life. Then the rug came out from under us! My husband lost his job and was unable to find another one for a year and a half, we came close to becoming homeless and I came face to face with the reality that my life was not meant for my comfort. God allowed me to become broken and waited patiently for me to start asking what He wanted me to do with my life and let go of what I thought I wanted.

In February of this year, I embarked on a journey that started me dreaming again. God re-ignited the passion that I had long ago abandoned. He gave me a big goal and it scared me and excited me at the same time. It was to write a book and publish it in 90 days. I worked feverishly to reach this goal with little thought of what was going to come afterward. I thought I’d write my book and help people with very little personal risk. Then God made it clear that I was not going to stay in my safe little comfort zone, but I was going to be out in front of people sharing my story. The true desire He has placed in my heart is to have an impact on as many people as possible. Doing that is going to require stepping out of my comfort zone and doing things that don’t always excite me.

In order to change your life and the lives of others you have to be willing to do things that grow you and growing is painful. It means being willing to fail and to lay down our pride and realize it’s not about us. Having an impact on the world costs us our comfortable life. I think that’s what Jesus was talking about when He said in Luke 29:23 “…If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross daily and follow Me.” We must be willing to do the little things every day and continue to die to ourselves in order to live the lives we were meant to live.

What dream have you put on the shelf in order to be comfortable?

Leave a Reply

