The Importance of Relationships

Making our relationships a priority is very important if we hope to have successful ones. It seems that many in our world seem to focus on themselves and their needs rather on the needs of those around them. These days it’s very common to have couples struggling to balance work, marriage and family. Many couples have had to adapt to living apart and still working to keep intimacy in their marriage. For the last several months I’ve been struggling with being away from my husband and trying to find the time to let him know how special he is to me while working to break out of debt and working toward the things God has placed on my heart.

I’ve been pet sitting a lot for the last several months and it is a lot of fun. It allows me the freedom to make money while still affording me the time to write. My husband, daughter and I live in a small two bedroom apartment, so working from home can be difficult at times. When the pet sitting started to increase, I was very excited that I would have the ability to get in a quiet space and be able to work unencumbered. Unfortunately, this leaves my husband home alone a lot, so it has been challenging to find time to spend one on one and stay connected.

I find myself enjoying my time alone because it’s easy. When we are by ourselves we don’t have to decide when is the best time to eat dinner or have someone watching TV when you want things to be quiet, you get to do what you want, when you want, the way you want. Then I go back home for a few days or weeks and struggle to adjust to not having it all my way. We miss each other while we are apart, but it is challenging to fit back into each other’s lives after being apart for weeks or months at a time. This gives me much more respect for those who have loved ones serving overseas. It doesn’t begin to compare to what they face, but it reminds me not to take the small things for granted.

This week my husband and I have been blessed with a unique opportunity to spend a little time away from the craziness that has become our lives. He’s going to come help me with my pet sitting and I’m going to take a break from all the other activities that keep me running constantly. We are taking a break from technology and other people so that we can take some time to connect with each other again. I found that it was difficult to tell everyone that I would not be available this week. I actually felt guilty for wanting to take care of myself and my husband, but it has become apparent that we need this time.  It’s at times like this when God convicts me of my pride, and reminds me that the world will get along just fine without me. He is the savior of the world, not me.

This truth that the world is not my responsibility has given me the freedom to enjoy life again. It seems many women struggle with realizing that it is not our job to fix everything. We were designed to be nurturing, but we often miss the opportunity to take some time to receive nurturing. We must remember that we can only give to others what we have ourselves. So I challenge you today to take some time to allow yourself to be refreshed.

 

What can you do to take care of yourself today? Please share some creative ways you have found to stay connected with the ones you love.

Leave a Reply

