Learning Truth

Lately events have been unfolding in my life that have caused me to take a look back to the years when the struggle to believe the truth was seemingly insurmountable to me. Most of my life I had spent living in fear of what was going to happen next. Evil forebodings were my constant companion, even when seemingly wonderful things were happening in my life. There was a constant thought floating around in my mind that said, “don’t get too excited, because you know the rug is going to be pulled out from under you and you wouldn’t want to be disappointed would you?”

This was my story up until 2010, when God met me where I was and told me that all that was needed for change in my life was a willingness to ask Him for help. He showed me in the scriptures that if I lacked faith all I needed to do was ask for Him to help me. For the first time in my life there was true hope and a surrender that I had never experienced before. This new revelation was something that I held on to for dear life for a few months until it began to become a reality. God eventually led me to the place where He could teach me the truth of who He is. It was a safe place and He surrounded me with people who had been where I was, but had been made free and some others who were in the same place I was.

The point of all of this is that we are all created by God as unique individuals, and He alone knows what each of us needs in order to believe the truth. Each person’s journey is different, but the same in the sense that in order to find God and truth we must first get past ourselves and what we can do in our strength before we can begin that upward journey. 1 John 4:18 says “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.” This says so much! What it’s saying to me is that God is not punishing us through our circumstances, but that He’s trying to reach out to us so that we understand that this life is not about us and what we can do.  Life is about Him and what He will do when we put Him in the driver seat.  I personally believe God rejoiced the day that I finally told Him that I didn’t know what to do and that He was going to have to take care of things because I couldn’t. That is the day that I first learned what resting in God meant.

I want to encourage each and every person out there today to admit that you don’t know the answer and reach out to the one who does! He rewards those who diligently seek Him and He gives His wisdom without finding fault!

What circumstance can you choose to hand over to God today?

4 thoughts on “Learning Truth

  1. ORDER TAMMY’S BOOK BECAUSE IT IS ANOINTED OF GOD AND WILL SHOW YOU THAT TAMMY KNOWS WHAT SHE IS TALKING ABOUT! IT WILL HELP YOU HAVE HOPE.

Leave a Reply

