The End Of A Journey

Today, I found out that my Aunt had passed away. She will be missed by many. Few people understood her, but her and I had a special connection and she is one of my heroes. There were a lot of people who weren’t able to see through her toughness into her heart of gold, but she was someone who deeply cared about others. We’ve had our ups and downs, but always maintained a special bond regardless of the time that passed in between visits.

She was a very strong, independent woman who rarely let her weaknesses show. Over the years, she suffered many circumstances that would have crushed most of us and yet, through them she was finally able to accept her Savior. She struggled through the loss of her marriage, the suicide of her son, and the death of her grandchildren(his daughter and son) just days after the 3rd anniversary of his death. All these situations came about in the later years of her life. I know that she had lived through many more disappointments over the earlier years of her life, and yet she seemed to rise above them without much effort, until the death of her son. This shook her to her very core, and I believe it’s what led her to finally accept Jesus into her life.

She was there for me during a very difficult time in my life, and made it a point to reach out and offer me a place to live when I was in need. Sad to say that I repaid her kindness with a lack of respect, and it took me many years to ask her for her forgiveness. A few years ago, I was able to thank her for standing up to me and telling me that I needed to leave her home. This shocked her; she told me that it was one of the most difficult things she had ever done, and she thought I would resent her for what she had done. This incident was one of the most significant crossroads in my life. It was the beginning of my journey out of my pit of self-pity and into personal responsibility. It took several years after this experience to learn that lesson, but it was the beginning.

Last month I was given the special gift of being able to visit with her while she was still here. That gift was the result of several people’s efforts. My friend, who found the cheap airfare for me,  my daughter, who allowed me to borrow the money to purchase the ticket, my cousins, who opened their home to me while I was there, and my friend, who picked me up and took me back to the airport. It was so precious to me and today I find myself even more grateful that I was given that opportunity. Today, I say farewell with a grateful heart and no regrets because I reached out and asked for help and  those people responded and did what they could.

I would encourage you today to remember to live everyday as if it was your last and make every effort to let your loved ones know how much you care, while you still have the opportunity.

4 thoughts on “The End Of A Journey

  1. Tammy: Just catching up on reading e-mails. So sorry to learn of your aunt’s passing, but she is with HIM and I feel such gratitude that you were able to see her and share her last days on this earth. God is so good. Love, Vicky

    ________________________________

    • Thanks Vicky! Yes, I was very grateful that God provided me a way to visit my Aunt before her passing. It meant so much to me to be able to let her know how much she meant to me before she passed! It also reminds me to constantly let all of those in my life know how much they mean to me, because we don’t always have a warning that the end is near.

      Love you so very much, Tammy!

Leave a Reply

