It’s Ok To Ask For Help; Jesus Did!

Most of us have been taught through our life’s experiences that we have to be self-sufficient. This is one of the biggest lies in the enemy’s arsenal. If he can keep us isolated and  in fear of reaching out to others he gains more power over our thoughts. The more power he gains over our thoughts the more control he can maintain in our lives.

As a child, I often felt that I had no one to depend on but me. Recently, as I began to write my story, it became apparent to me that there were many people placed in my life who had helped me along the way. When I began to look at things from a new perspective it became apparent that I had never really been alone, but had chosen to feel that way. It was so much easier to focus on all the evidence that proved me right about feeling like it was all up to me, rather than focus on all the good people in my life who had helped me along the way.

A few years ago, my husband and I were in a situation where we had no choice, but to depend on others. This was one of the most uncomfortable places I have ever been in my life, but also the place that produced the most growth in my life. In the beginning, I despised our circumstances and thought that God had abandoned us. I couldn’t wait until the day our circumstances changed and we could give back everything we owed to everyone who was helping us. Slowly, God began to show me that He was teaching me an important lesson; that we are supposed to learn how to trust others and ask for help. Asking for help is not showing weakness, but great strength. When we become willing to make ourselves vulnerable to others we begin to truly live. Becoming vulnerable makes us powerful, because that’s when we learn to allow others to bring their strengths into our life.

A couple of weeks ago I was reading in Mark and came across the passage where Jesus asked the disciples to watch and pray with Him. It dawned on me that here was Jesus, the Son of God, asking for the help of His followers. What a revelation! God showed us how He wanted us to live our lives through Christ’s example, and in this instance, Jesus was asking for help. This is so profound, because most of us think we have to put up that brave front and stand strong, but we can’t be strong unless we allow others into our lives to help us. If Jesus, the Son of God, can ask for help, why can’t we?

We were not created to walk this road alone, but to stay connected with those around us and learn from each other so that together we can step into the greatness we were created for. We might just be surprised at what we can accomplish when we work together and remain open to receiving from others.

Who can you ask for help from today?

3 thoughts on “It’s Ok To Ask For Help; Jesus Did!

Leave a Reply

