Our Perspective is Powerful

 

Life rarely works out the way we plan it, but many times it works out so much better than we planned when we choose to give God our disappointment and look for the blessing in the trial. This may seem to some as if I’m reciting a cliché and choosing to gloss over my feelings, but one thing I have learned in the last few years is perspective changes everything.

For most of my life, I chose to look at my circumstances with a victim mentality. “That’s just my luck” and “Murphy’s Law once again” were among the most popular phrases that would come out of my mouth. Rarely did I stop to look at what had gone well in my life, but instead chose to focus on all the things that had gone differently than I had planned. Most of the time, I chose to blame God for my disappointments. This kept me from having an intimate relationship with Him, because I didn’t want to talk to someone who wasn’t giving me what I thought I needed. How could I trust Him when I couldn’t pay my rent or didn’t know how we were going to buy groceries that week.

Today, I am so grateful that God did not give me some of the things that I thought were so important; instead He has given me a brain transplant in many ways. Today, it is so much easier for me to see the blessings in my life and not focus on the things that seem to be wrong. This new attitude did not happen overnight, but rather over the course of a few years. My journey started with a constant minute to minute struggle to learn to trust God’s truth and not my feelings that had been so poisoned by the enemies lies, that the truth didn’t have a chance. In the beginning phrases like “I’m blessed and highly favored” and “I’m the disciple whom Jesus loves” seemed like lip service, but slowly they began to penetrate my mind and renew it. Saying these phrases, digging into the Word of God for the truth, and praying to God for revelation of that truth were what finally broke the enemy’s stronghold in my mind. He had me convinced that God wanted me to suffer through this life and I couldn’t really trust God to take care of me.

The words we speak out are so very important and we really can change our life with the words we choose to speak. Proverbs 18:21 says “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit.” This is a very powerful warning that what we say can have dire consequences.

This week an opportunity for me to make a substantial amount of money to help my family gain ground in our financial struggle fell through. The person who had come to me with this opportunity told me not to be disappointed, that this was “the entry point of good things to come”. It was then that I realized that just a few years ago, this situation would’ve completely derailed me. I probably would’ve said, “see, that’s just my luck”, instead this opportunity showed me just how quickly God can change our circumstances and I know that when the time is right He will present the opportunity that we need. What a difference! Only God could’ve made that change in my mind, but I needed to seek Him out first, or the change wouldn’t have come.

Matthew 7:7-8 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. This scripture shows what God expects from us in order to have change in our lives.

How can you change your perspective today?

2 thoughts on “Our Perspective is Powerful

Leave a Reply

