Does Time Heal Wounds?

time

There’s a saying that says “time heals all wounds”. People would say that to me constantly, and I began to wonder how much time was needed to heal the wounds from my childhood. At the age of 34 it became apparent to me that “time” wasn’t going to heal my wounds. The circumstances of my life at that time told me that I needed to find some healing or my hurts might very well destroy me.

It was at this time that my cousin chose to end his life due to the tremendous emotional pain he was suffering from. This took me by complete surprise, because he seemed to be so strong and self-confident. We had a conversation just a few months before his death where he stated that self-help books were not needed; you simply needed to “get over” the hurts in your life. His death showed me that action was required to overcome the pain in my life.

My search to find healing for my deep wounds took about ten years and there were a lot of twists and turns in the path. It started by my willingness to realize that I was powerless to heal on my own and that it was imperative that I seek my creator to show me where to start.

The process was very difficult in the beginning. One person who was made aware of my search told me that “I should have gotten over these things years ago.” This was so very hurtful and had I listened to their advice I would have given up right then and there. Looking back, it is clear to me that God placed a cocoon around me to keep me on the path toward the healing that I was so desperately seeking.

My point in sharing all of this is that if you are on a journey toward healing be careful who you allow to speak into your life and to encourage you to seek God for His wisdom. Also, if you know someone in your life who is seeking healing, be very careful about the words you say to them and about them. Words are mighty weapons that can be used for good or evil! (Proverbs 16:24 “Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.”)

A few things to keep in mind as you walk the road to healing…

  1. You are unique and your journey will be too. (Things that have worked for others may not work for you.)
  2. Patience, patience, patience… (Many wounds have years of scar tissue around them and it may take time to get to the root.)
  3. Be open to people and situations that God will bring into your life to teach you. (Isolating yourself can be a dangerous proposition.)
  4. Trust God to show you what you need in His timing. (He created you and He alone knows exactly what you need, when you need it.)

Jeremiah 29:11-13 “11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.”

Please feel free to share any victories you’ve had or struggles you are currently facing, so that others can support you in prayer.

Are you ready to find true healing for your past?

2 thoughts on “Does Time Heal Wounds?

Leave a Reply

