Do You Have A Dream?

Dreamboard

Last week, I wrote about setting goals and how setting goals and being held accountable to them had dramatically changed my life.  As I looked back at 2012, the dramatic difference in my life was extraordinarily apparent, but I found myself struggling to form new goals this year. We need to take time to celebrate our accomplishments, but then it’s time to move on and continue to challenge ourselves.

Last Wednesday, I was invited to a Dream Board Creation Party. It was in the middle of a crazy week. It was difficult to set aside the time to go, but my good friend, Holly, encouraged me to go with her. It was an amazingly, powerful experience, being with a group of women with the same mindset. We were all there to wake up our dreams that had been dormant. For some of us it had been a very long time since we allowed ourselves to dream. It’s so easy to spend our time focused on survival and forget those dreams that we had as children. Many times we are told that our dreams are selfish or that we need to face reality. In reality, I believe our dreams are given to us by our creator.

He created each one of us for a specific mission here on earth, a mission that only we are capable of accomplishing. If you look around our world, you will see that most people are living in survival mode. Many of us have allowed the weeds of life to choke out the dreams we once held dear. Living life in survival mode is not the abundant life that Jesus spoke of when He walked this earth. He said in John 10:10 “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”

When we allow our dreams to fall by the wayside, we are allowing the enemy to destroy the good plan that God has for our lives. There are people who need you to live the life that God planned for you before you were born so that they will have permission to step into the life God created for them. Most of us have heard the saying “actions speak louder than words”. This means that people pay more attention to what we do than what we say. If our “talk doesn’t match our walk” we have little chance of reaching others with the message of hope we’ve been given to share.

How can a dream board help? It helps me to remember the bigger picture and not give up when the inevitable obstacles block my path. The dream board reminds me to keep moving forward step by step each day. When I share my dream board it helps by keeping me accountable to others, so I can’t hide, isolate and let those dreams fall away.

What dreams has God planted in your heart? If you’ve made a dream board, please share how it’s helped you. Would you consider attending a dream board creation party?

Leave a Reply

