Time to be


What does the phrase “take time to be” mean to you? How can we find the time to “be” and still get everything done that needs to be done? The last few years have been difficult for me. My family has struggled financially for many years, but in the last few years it has really become apparent that working harder and more is not the answer.

Most of my life has been spent making my plans and praying for God to bless them. Several years were spent working two or three jobs at a time and praying that we would finally be able to get out of debt. Then a few years ago, my health started to take a turn. Years of not eating or sleeping properly had taken its toll and maintaining the constant hectic pace that was my life became impossible. Finally, I had to ask God to supply my needs. Admitting my need for God was very difficult because as a child I had made an inner vow that I would not be dependent on anyone ever again. It was not apparent on a conscious level that I had made that vow and that made it impossible to understand the effect it was having on my life.

Looking back on my life now, I can see how God allowed me to come to the place where I had no other choice but to trust Him as my provider. All those prayers for provision and then the disappointment when it didn’t come through the way I thought it should. God was there all along; He just wasn’t giving me what I thought I needed.

Fast forward to the last two weeks and I am still learning the lesson that God is my provider. I’ve only been home a few days over the last few months. The pressure to constantly be productive and never waste a moment has overwhelmed me. It’s so hard to unplug from all the clutter in my brain and allow God to truly be in control of my daily life. There are so many goals and plans that I have for my life, but are they God’s plans?

Sometimes those things that aren’t planned are the best. My car has broken down twice in the last two weeks and we didn’t have the money to make the needed repairs. Many hours were spent asking God to fix my car and reminding Him of what I needed. After much pleading for God to change my circumstances, I realized that maybe He was trying to remind me to slow down once again. The opportunity to be pet sitting in an isolated location and be able to unplug and “be” had presented itself and I was too busy telling God what I needed to notice!

Humbled once again and now I can be grateful that God didn’t answer my prayer the way I had expected. This passage of scripture always gives me comfort in any situation.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 “11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. 13 You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.”

What is God telling you through your circumstance today?

2 thoughts on “Time to be

  1. Thanks Tammy u have such a way with words and such experience that defines and colors your words. These words are healing forme today. I believe the job I have is where god has me and he wants me to be slower than I want to be. We all want to speed up god but he won’t be sped up..

    • Patty, it’s so good to know that God can use our circumstances to not only help us, but others as well. You are in my prayers! God has your back! Jeremiah 29:11-13. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it means so very much!

Leave a Reply

