Are Your Circumstances Lying to You?


Psalm 27 reminds me that God is always for me and that He has a good plan for this life not just for the next life.

Sometimes our circumstances can be like going out into the ocean and seeing that big wall of water coming at us. I love the ocean; it’s where I feel closest to God. I’ve gone out on days when there are some mighty big waves coming in and then that wave comes in that starts to pull me out farther. Suddenly I realize that the wave is going to crash over me and take control. The panic sets in and then my husband reminds me to duck instead of fight to stay in control on top of the wave. When I remember to duck the wave will wash over me without incident, but on those occasions when I choose to fight the wave, I usually lose. The wave shakes me around and takes me back into shore and I usually have a few bumps and bruises or lungs full of water to show for my effort.

That’s how it can be with my circumstances until I learn to trust that God is in control and He knows what’s best for me. I will waste all of my strength battling my circumstances instead of resting in God and trusting Him to take care of me. Even though I have had some victories in this area, I still need to be reminded from time to time that God knows my circumstances and He knows the answer before I have the problem. The truth is that God never wastes a hurt. If we rest in Him, He will use our circumstances to shape us into who He has created us to be. God wants us to trust Him regardless of what we see.

Again I’m reminded of David, who was anointed as King and spent the next twenty years avoiding death at the hand of King Saul until his circumstances caught up with God’s promise. There are so many examples in the Bible of people that had to stand on the promises of God until they saw His goodness in the land of the living. Joseph, Abraham, Joshua are just a few.

I leave you with Psalm 27. Verses thirteen and fourteen are especially important, because they remind us that we will see God’s goodness in this life, not just in heaven!

Don’t give up! God has a great plan for your life regardless of what your circumstances say! Wait for the Lord! Selah!

Psalm 27

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold
of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid?

When evildoers assail me
to eat up my flesh,
my adversaries and foes,
it is they who stumble and fall.

Though an army encamp against me,
my heart shall not fear;
though war arise against me,
yet
I will be confident.

One thing have I asked of the Lord,
that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord
and to inquire
in his temple.

For he will hide me in his shelter
in the day of trouble;
he will conceal me under the cover of his tent;
he will lift me high upon a rock.

And now my head shall be lifted up
above my enemies all around me,
and I will offer in his tent
sacrifices with shouts of joy;
I will sing and make melody to the Lord.

Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud;
be gracious to me and answer me!
You have said, “Seek my face.”
My heart says to you,
“Your face, Lord, do I seek.”
    Hide not your face from me.
Turn not your servant away in anger,
O you who have been my help.
Cast me not off; forsake me not,
O God of my salvation!
10 For my father and my mother have forsaken me,
but the Lord will take me in.

11 Teach me your way, O Lord,
and lead me on a level path
because of my enemies.
12 Give me not up to the will of my adversaries;
for false witnesses have risen against me,
and they breathe out violence.

13 I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord
in the land of the living!
14 Wait for the Lord;
be strong, and let your heart take courage;
wait for the Lord!

Are you fighting your circumstances or letting God fight the battle? Please share any scriptures that speak to you when you are struggling with your circumstances.

2 thoughts on “Are Your Circumstances Lying to You?

Leave a Reply

