Where is your focus?


When we are in the middle of a crisis it is critical to have our focus on God rather than our circumstances. One of the stories in the Bible that teaches us to seek God in the midst of our circumstances is found in 2 Chronicles 20:1- 25. Judah was invaded by several mighty armies at once. It was during King Jehoshaphat’s reign. 2 Chronicles 20:3 says “Jehoshaphat was afraid and turned his attention to seek the Lord, and proclaimed a fast throughout all Judah.” Jehoshaphat assessed the situation and realized that the only way out of their situation was to seek God.


My first reaction when I am afraid is usually to try and figure it out by myself. I ask advice from others on what they think I should do and when all of my efforts fail then I ask God to help. Usually by that time, I have a great big mess on my hands and I end up going down a much more difficult road than if I had simply taken the time to seek God first. If Jehoshaphat had taken this approach things probably would have ended very differently.

God should be the first place we go if we want to know how to have the victory. Usually my pride keeps me from seeking Him because I want my problem to be solved my way. Jehoshaphat didn’t tell God how He should deliver Israel; he simply took the situation to Him and waited for God to reveal His plan. So many times we become discouraged because God doesn’t answer our prayers the way we think He should. We forget that He knows our circumstances and what we need better than we do. He knows the whole picture and we only have a part of the picture.

Jehoshaphat didn’t deny the danger he was facing, but He told God about his fear and finished with reminding God that all eyes were on Him. 2 Chronicles 20:12 “O our God, will You not judge them? For we are powerless before this great multitude who are coming against us; nor do we know what to do, but our eyes are on You.” It’s ok to be afraid, but we cannot dwell on our fear if we want to have the victory. We need to keep our eyes on God.

God answered by having the mighty armies destroy each other from within. His people had only to stand still, praise Him and watch God’s deliverance! They weren’t passive, but they actively believed God for His deliverance and waited until God told them what to do. That is so comforting to me.

Seeking God first will allow us to remain in rest and have fewer consequences to struggle through.

What consequences could you have avoided if you had waited for God’s Plan instead of trying to solve your problem on your own?

Leave a Reply

