A New Thing


When God starts doing a new thing in our lives, it can be very exciting in the beginning. The adrenaline’s pumping, we see the vision so clearly and then it happens…the proverbial rug comes out from under our feet and we find ourselves asking, “Was that God I heard?”. If we’re not careful, we can find ourselves becoming cynical and disillusioned with life. The enemy of our soul is there whispering in our ear, “You see, God can’t be trusted”.

It’s at this point in our lives that we need to decide who we trust, God or the enemy. This may seem simplistic, but it really is that simple. Simple doesn’t mean easy. God never said this life would be easy, in fact, He told us just the opposite.
John 16:33 “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”
This verse clearly tells us that this life is not a cake walk, but it also tells us that we don’t have to buckle under the pressure because our God has given us the ultimate victory. All we have to do is hang in there, stand on the truth, trust God’s Sovereignty and wait for God to move on our behalf.

Sometimes it seems like we are surrounded by darkness, when in reality we are right on the edge of a breakthrough. That’s when the enemy will pull out all the stops and try to fake us out. This has been the case in my life recently. I’ve been focusing on my health and taking better care of myself. I made some big changes to my lifestyle and when I did all chaos broke loose in my body. Those old fears came back, as the enemy whispered in my ear that my body wasn’t going to heal and this was my lot in life. Then God reminded me of a passage of scripture in
Isaiah 40:31
“Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.”

That is the promise I choose to hold on to this week, along with

Isaiah 43:16-21

16 Thus says the Lord,
who makes a way in the sea,
a path in the mighty waters,
17 who brings forth chariot and horse,
army and warrior;
they lie down, they cannot rise,
they are extinguished, quenched like a wick:
18 “Remember not the former things,
nor consider the things of old.
19 Behold, I am doing a new thing;
now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness
and rivers in the desert.
20 The wild beasts will honor me,
the jackals and the ostriches,
for I give water in the wilderness,
rivers in the desert,
to give drink to my chosen people,
21 the people whom I formed for myself
that they might declare my praise.

What new thing is God working on in your life? What old thing can you choose to forget?

Leave a Reply

