Giving To Ourselves


Last month I was blessed by a friend with an all expense paid trip to Naples, Florida. It soon became apparent that this was not a coincidence, but God wanted to use this trip to speak to me. He had been trying to speak to me for awhile, but I was too busy trying to do all the things that I thought He wanted me to do to listen.

God had spent the last year sending people into my life who were talking to me about investing in myself. Some people gave me new clothing that I refused to buy for myself. One kind woman gave me a whole makeover. She sent me to an awesome hairdresser to have my hair done, which had not been done for a year, she sent me to a boutique to get some new clothing, and she had still another person give me a facial. I felt blessed and so grateful, but really missed the point God was trying to make. He wanted me to start investing in myself. He wanted me to start paying more attention to the temple He has given me.

When my friend and I were in Naples, God started to speak to me about the way she took care of herself. She took time for skincare, to dress up when we went out, and buy food that was good for her body. We went shopping and she bought some new clothing and a pair of beautiful shoes for herself. I remember thinking how nice it would be to be able to do that some day. Then God said, “it’s time for you to start doing that now”.

When we returned from that trip, I had a new mission from God. He wanted me to start taking time to seek Him and start taking steps to invest in my health and my appearance. How many of us talk about taking better care of ourselves someday? We think that one day we will have enough money, or enough time to take better care of ourselves, but God says we need to invest in ourselves every day.

God talks about us taking care of ourselves throughout the Bible.

I Corinthians 3:16 “ Do you not know that you
are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?”

3 John 1:2 “ Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.

Luke 10:27 “And he answered, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.’ “

We can’t love others, if we don’t love ourselves. God wants us to take care of our bodies in balance. We are not to become obsessed by taking Care of our physical bodies, but we do need to pay attention to them. They are God’s temple here on earth and what He uses to do His work here.


1 Timothy 4:8 ” for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.

When we focus our attention on God, He will guide us and provide what we need to take care of our body, soul and spirit in the proper balance.

What can you give to yourself today? What has God been telling you about taking care of yourself?

4 thoughts on “Giving To Ourselves

  1. Tammy, I struggle with taking care of myself too. The needs of others always seem more important. And, yes, we are called to put others ahead of ourselves…but we shouldn’t neglect the fact that we were created by HIM and are just as special and in need of care. I am finally getting a much needed haircut tomorrow…I am way overdue. 🙂

Leave a Reply

