Leading with Love

love2

Here’s a post I shared some time ago. It’s been laid on my heart again as I am beginning with a ministry in the Martin County Jail. Please enjoy and feel free to send me some feedback!

There’s a saying “People don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care.” This is so very true, especially in our world today. At the heart of all of us is the desire to be accepted and loved. Many people feel if they are wrong they will not be loved or accepted, so the average person will do whatever they can to prove they are right. Needing to be right usually alienates us from others and is the exact opposite of what we are trying to do, but many people don’t understand that. We really need to keep this in mind when we are sharing our truth with others. Delivery of our message is one of the most vital components of sharing that message. If people don’t think you care and all you’re doing is trying to prove that you’re right, they will usually check out and not even consider listening to you.

In Corinthians, Paul certainly confronted the members of the Corinthian church with truth, but throughout first and second Corinthians we see that he peppered his confrontation with many words of love and encouragement. There were some that refused his correction, but many got the message and changed their ways. I believe Paul was effective because he came from a place of love rather than pride.

In 1 Corinthians 9:19-23 Paul talks about meeting people where they are so that more of them will receive his message. “19 For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a slave to all, so that I may win more. 20 To the Jews I became as a Jew, so that I might win Jews; to those who are under the Law, as under the Law though not being myself under the Law, so that I might win those who are under the Law; 21 to those who are without law, as without law, though not being without the law of God but under the law of Christ, so that I might win those who are without law. 22 To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak; I have become all things to all men, so that I may by all means save some. 23 I do all things for the sake of the gospel, so that I may become a fellow partaker of it.

A few years ago, I watched a movie called “Patch Adams”. It was based on a true story about a man who went to medical school and took on their idea of what a doctor should be. The most amazing thing about the movie was watching the character played by Robin Williams consistently lead with love for others. He took it as a personal challenge to reach everyone with love that he came in contact with. This was especially true if they went out of their way to shut him out. He was relentless at spreading love in his wake. That is the goal I aspire to and believe what God is looking for from me. Maybe we could all take a lesson from this movie and learn to spread the truth with love and leave our pride at the door.

Who can you love on today?

Leave a Reply

