I Wanna Live While I’m Alive!

Photo by John Fischer

I’m not crazy about BonJovi, but the song “It’s My Life” gets stuck in my head and it doesn’t leave. One phrase speaks to me loudest. “Better stand tall when they’re calling you out. Don’t bend, don’t break, baby, don’t back down.” Isn’t this what life is about?

There were many years I spent being jealous of people who were dying. You heard me right. Pretty sick, huh? There’s something about knowing death is imminent that makes people start living. Aren’t we all dying every day? We are, but we choose to push it to the back of our minds as if we can avoid it if we don’t think about it.

Why do we wait until we come face to face with the reality of death to start living the way we knew we should’ve all along?

Why do we treat people who are dying, like it is ok to live the way they want now that their life is over, but treat people who simply decide to step out to change their life as if they have a screw loose?

We feel selfish trying to step out to do things we’ve always dreamed of. Write that book, start that business, learn to play an instrument etc.

We wait for years for someone to give us permission to live the life we’ve dreamed of and then we wake up one day and realize how much time we’ve wasted.

We get tied up in living life according to other people’s expectations.

We forget to live the life we’ve dreamed of; the life God has called us to.

We forget that we choose how we live.

There will be a day we will find out we were responsible all along. We are not called to live anyone else’s life; only the one we’ve been given. We are uniquely qualified to live above our circumstances. Our creator has designed our lives to teach us what we need to learn for the next life.

For over twenty-five years I dreamed of being a writer. I chose to listen to the dream stealers in my life. I took the easy way out and blamed it on my circumstances. After several years, I decided it was too late for me. Blah, blah, blah…

One day I was awakened. God told me to start living and stop waiting. He told me to stop dwelling on what was lost and take advantage of how He had blessed me.

In Joel 2:25 He says “I will repay the years the locusts have eaten…” We never get there until we decide to stop dwelling on the past.

We move forward. We step out in faith. We face our fears head on.

Are you going to start living today?

11 thoughts on “I Wanna Live While I’m Alive!

    • Yes, Pam it wears us out trying to keep everyone else happy when only one counts! Thanks for taking the time to read and give feedback. Loved your post about what is life like. I’m working on something to send in. What an awesome book idea!

  1. Great reminder, Tammy! I’m a cancer survivor and I still need the reminders to really live and not get stuck in the “stuff” of life that gets us so distracted and frazzled.

    • Wow, Stacy, so glad it could resonate with you. It is so easy to get caught up in the things around us and forget what’s really important. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I so appreciate the feedback!

  2. Tammy,

    Waiting for permission to live. Boy, can I relate to that statement. I was born to write. And as long as I write I am doing what I was born to do. Loved this post. Very well written and filled with passion. I’ll be excited to see you living fully.

    • Thanks Anne! You have been such an inspiration to me. I was so angry at myself for so long and just want to shout from the rooftops for everyone to wake up and move forward out of their pit, and then I realize it’s better to show than tell! (ha, ha) Good advice in so many ways.

  3. Tammy,
    You touched my heart with this message. I felt like you were talking to me. How I can relate to this! Thank you for the lift and inspiration.
    😊
    Barbara

  4. Tammy,
    You spoke to my heart with this message. I loved it. I felt like you were talking to me! I could relate on many levels.
    Thank you for your inspiration!
    😊
    Barbara

  5. Tammy the day my brother died I decided that we have little control over most things that happen in our world, BUT we can control how we choose to deal with the challenges given to us. I decided to stop worrying about the what if’s (still working on that) but am a long way from the days I use to worry about everything. Thank you for the reminder to step out of your comfort zone and take a listen to your own special inner voice, the one that says “Come on you can do this!”

    • Kath, it is amazing to me the way some people can rise above such tragic circumstances. I’m glad you are stepping out with your writing, you have so much to offer the world. Thanks for stopping by and sharing such heart felt support!

Leave a Reply

