The To Do List


Photo by Courtney Dirks courtesy of Flickr

My husband used to like to have a to do list of the things I wanted him to do. I would get so frustrated, because I just wanted him to know what needed to be done. It took me a while to realize he just liked to have the list so he wasn’t wasting time doing things that weren’t important to me. Over time he learned certain things were more important than others and he began doing them without being asked. He no longer performed out of obligation, but out of a desire to help and show his love for me in practical ways.

That’s a lot like our relationship with God. He gave us His word as a sort of to do list. It’s not so we get wrapped up in checking things off our list, but so we know where to start. He’s interested in our heart attitude rather than getting all of our check marks. He wants us to seek a relationship with Him and make it the top priority of our day.

This will look different for each one of us because we are all unique and all have different circumstances. We may need to start with a plan to study His Word and pray for thirty minutes a day or it may mean writing down a different scripture each week and meditating on it for that week. If we continue with this habit it will soon become more than something we do every day. It will become something we look forward to each day. We will begin to find ways to carve out more and more time to be with Him. We will miss it when we skip it. There will be an emptiness we can’t deny.

I spent a long time waiting to get my ducks in a row before I could study the Bible. One day I realized He just wanted me to start!

God doesn’t expect us to have it all together before we come to Him; He just wants us to seek Him with our whole heart. When we come with the right attitude, He promises to reward our efforts.

Hebrews 11:6 (KJV) “But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of them who diligently seek Him.”

1 Chronicles 28:9 (ESV) ” And you, Solomon my son, know the God of your father and serve him with a whole heart and with a willing mind, for the Lord searches all hearts and understands every plan and thought. If you seek him, he will be found by you, but if you forsake him, he will cast you off forever.”

Are you seeking God today? Do you trust Him to reward your efforts?

4 thoughts on “The To Do List

  1. Tammy you have many blessings a loving husband and the path of faith to get you through the rough patches. I am not as dedicated at the scriptures as my parents were and are, yet I see how their faith is the glue to living a life of good intent and love is the key to most ailments. I mostly give thanks to god for all that I have and pray for those who need it and everybody needs it at some stage in their lives. You are an inspirational soul.

    • Kath, thanks as always for your kind words. Yes, faith is like oxygen for me. I love that God longs to have a deep relationship with each and every one of us! My husband is a precious gift and I’ve only recently started to understand what an amazing gift he is. I am truly blessed. Thanks again for your support and stopping by to read.

Leave a Reply

