Can You Have Your Cake And Eat It Too?

Photo credit dcJohn from Flickr

 

Last week, I was reminded of the movie Erin Brockovich. Watching that movie for the first time encouraged me to make a difference in the world. I wanted the change to be big so the whole world would know. Her character spoke to me, because like her, I struggled with strong adversity in my life. She also connected with the people of Hinckley on such a deep level. She actually went inside their pain with them and instead of numbing the pain she used it to fuel her towards making a difference in their lives. She took big risks to help the people she met fight for what was right regardless of the outcome.

The great victory shown in the movie is what most people remember. They remember that it was all worth it in the end. As I took the opportunity to watch the movie again this week, I found myself looking at a different side of things. The personal sacrifices Erin made included losing the man who was supporting her at home, having her children feel less important than the people she was crusading for and not taking care of her physical health. The balance was lost in her life because of the burning passion she was following with a skewed motive.

In one scene of the movie, she had a discussion with her love interest that was very telling. He was pouring out his heart to her and revealing what it was like to live with her and she made a statement that summed it all up. She said when she entered a room with these people everyone shut up to see if she had anything to say and then she said she’d never had that before. That statement revealed the payoff for her. She was willing to sacrifice her personal life and her relationships with her family to be a hero to a large group of people.

Balance is so important when we are pursuing the God given passion inside of us. How many pastors have lost their families because they continually put the needs of their congregation above their own families? While we have a purpose in this life, we are to walk it out in balance. One of the ways we do that is by remembering our dream is not about us. It’s God’s dream and we are blessed to be a part of it.

God clearly calls us to order in His word. In 2 Timothy 1:7 (KJV) it says “For God hath not given us a spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” If we are missing one of these ingredients, we need to check in with God and ask for wisdom.

In Matthew 6:33(KJV) it says “But seek ye first the Kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” This scripture tells us we will have success in our lives when we keep God and His priorities first in our lives.

With God, we can have our cake and eat it too if we’re willing to humble ourselves and do it His way.

How do you seek balance in your life? Has your mission become more important than your relationship with God, your husband and children?

6 thoughts on “Can You Have Your Cake And Eat It Too?

  1. Tammy I try to find a balance, some days I find I need to make ME a priority or I will go insane and drown in the consistent waves of being a mum and wife. I know that sounds selfish but sometimes, not often I let my creative spirit fly and what I see is a happier mum and inspired children. Great thoughtful post thanks.

    • Kath, making Me time a priority is not selfish! For years, I neglected feeding myself and didn’t give my family priority either. This post was about me realizing my similarities I shared with Erin and the shift that’s occurred since I’ve consciously started to seek to make God top priority. Most days it doesn’t happen as it should, but I celebrate the small victories and know God sees my heart for change. Thanks again for taking the time to read these words and offer your kind comments! God Bless you!

    • Christa, thank you for taking the time to read and your comment. This post is me reminding myself and taking whoever wishes to come along on the ride. πŸ™‚ I have by no means mastered balance and am open to anyone’s suggestions on how they find balance, because we’re all in this together.

Leave a Reply

