Sarah – A Strong Woman of Faith?

Photo courtesy of Jenn on Flickr

 

The search for rest and what it means has led me on a study of Faith. God’s Word compares us to sheep on several occasions and last week I heard someone teaching on Psalm 23. He brought attention to the second verse. “He makes me lie down in green pastures.” He went on to explain the three things sheep need in order to lay down. First, they must be well fed. Second, they must not have fighting among them. Third, they must feel safe.

This brought a whole new meaning to this scripture for me. If we are compared to sheep, do we need these three things in order to rest? How do we get these three things? What part does the sheep play in this scenario?

The sheep must eat. God doesn’t force feed us. The sheep must stop fighting. God tells us the importance of living in peace in His word. The sheep must trust they are safe. God tells us to have faith He will keep us safe. God does His part as the Shepherd and we have our part.

Our part may seem easy, but how many of us can actually say we do these three things? My continuing search led me to Hebrews 11; the faith chapter. What can we learn about faith from this chapter?

This morning God led me to verse 11. “By faith even Sarah herself received ability to conceive, even beyond the proper time of life, since she considered Him faithful who had promised.” Sarah laughing when God gave this promise was what came to mind.

Genesis 18:10-15 “10 He said, ‘I will surely return to you at this time next year, and behold, Sarah your wife will have a son.’ And Sarah was listening at the tent door, which was behind him. 11Now Abraham and Sarah were old, advanced in age; Sarah was past child-bearing. 12 Sarah laughed to herself, saying, ‘After I have become old, shall I have pleasure my lord being old also?’ 13 And the Lord said to Abraham, ‘Why did Sarah laugh, saying, ‘Shall I indeed bear a child, when I am so old?’ 14 Is anything too difficult for the Lord? At the appointed time I will return to you, at this time next year, and Sarah will have a son.’ 15 Sarah denied it however, saying, ‘I did not laugh; for she was afraid. And He said, ‘No, but you did Laugh.'”

This describes the great woman of faith in Hebrews Chapter 11? Pondering this, several things came to mind. Sarah trusted her husband when God told him to leave his home and travel to a land He would show him. She stood by her man when he gave Lot the best of the land. She expressed faith in many ways up to that point, but God chose her greatest struggle to credit her with faith.

God showed up in Sarah’s greatest weakness as a witness to us. Reading this gives me hope that I too can be a great woman of faith. God knows my heart. He alone knows my secret struggles and He’s waiting for me to hand it all over to Him and rest. It starts with Faith. We gain faith by letting go of struggles with those around us and feeding ourselves with God’s Word. Like sheep we have to receive what He provides for us.

Are you seeking faith? What struggle will you give to God today?

Leave a Reply

