Are You Struggling To Hold On To Faith?

holding on

Photo by Erik Charlton courtesy of Flickr

In our world it’s very easy to lose hope. There is so much heartache around us on a daily basis and if we choose to focus our attention on our circumstances we will lose our faith. God knows this and gave us a prescription for overcoming the despair we can sometimes succumb to if we’re not careful.

Philippians 4:6-9 “6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise dwell on these things. 9 The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”

This is a promise from God. We will have peace when we do what God tells us to do here. Easier said than done you may say. God never promised us easy; He promised us this life would be hard. Many Christians have lost sight of that one simple truth. This life God has designed for us is meant to teach us and to train us for the next life. If we choose the easy way out, we lose.

This week I’ve seen two women go through deep disappointment on their journey.

One is a woman who has become my mentor. She doesn’t know it, but she has inspired me to step in deeper with God. Last week while training for a bicycle marathon to raise money for the mission God has lain on her heart, she had an accident. She broke her thumb a couple ribs and she is unable to participate in this event which she has been working toward for some time. My heart broke for her. I know that place, when the dream dies. The place where you wonder, “Why God? Did I hear you wrong?”. Instead of having a pity party, she dug into God’s Word while she was bed ridden. She shared how God was encouraging her. This woman understands how to overcome disappointment.

The second is a woman who lost her young child to cancer. Thousands of people or more have been praying for her little girl to be healed. In the midst of this journey she has been writing a blog inspiring others. She was real about her pain but, never faltered in her faith or blamed God. She trusted his sovereignty the entire time. She looked for the blessings in the midst of her trial. Her journey convicted me of my own struggle to remain faithful in far less traumatic circumstances.

This is what true faith looks like and what God is calling us to move towards. I am so grateful God gives us living examples of faith through the people around us. They are all around if we will get our eyes off of ourselves long enough to look for them.

This week, I was not a good example of faith. I had a huge pity party for myself in the midst of my circumstances. I allowed my focus to stray from the truth and went into the pit of despair for awhile. I’m so thankful for the people God has placed around me to remind me of the truth when I stray.

Who do you have in your life to hold you accountable? Do you allow others to hold you accountable to move forward?

Leave a Reply

