Here a Cause, There a Cause

Photo by Courtney Dirks courtesy of Flickr

Lately, I’ve been plagued by doubts I’m not doing enough. There is so much need around me and I don’t want to be selfish by not helping those in need, but there are simply not enough hours in the day to help with every cause. There are political causes, save the Indian River Lagoon, YWAM students needing support, sick, poor, and people without insurance who have serious health issues. There are an endless number of causes you can adopt, but how can we be effective if we try to spread our energy over all of them?

God gives each of us a passion for the mission He has created us for. Some of my friends are very passionate about politics and political causes, some are passionate for children, some are passionate for young mothers, and some are passionate for those who are sick, etc. Are any of these causes wrong? No, they’re just not the cause God has laid on my heart. God has laid the broken-hearted on my heart. The people who have lost hope, those who believe God can’t possibly love them or care about them.

As I was studying in Matthew chapter 8 this week God spoke to me. He used the illustration of the disciple asking Jesus if he could temporarily step away from following Jesus to bury his father. This man wasn’t asking Jesus if he could to do something wrong, after all, it is written in Exodus 20:12 “Honor your Father and Mother…” Jesus was asking this man to choose following him rather than doing the thing society expected of him. I’m not saying we should shirk our responsibility, but following Jesus comes first. He comes first, before our comfort, before what others think of us, before anything in this life.

This is where being spirit lead is very important. God will prompt us to follow Him and sometimes He may call us to come out from doing something good so He can use us for something better. Here’s an example from my life. God called me out from my church group and my family to attend a group called Celebrate Recovery for a season of my life. There were those who didn’t understand at the time, and to tell you the truth, neither did I. It was just something God was telling me to do and He made it perfectly clear it was what He wanted even though it didn’t make sense to me at the time. Now, I look back and see it makes sense and it was just for a season and now that season is over.

This is just one example of how God called me to follow Him. Let me make it clear, He didn’t call me to leave my husband, just step away one evening a week for a few hours to work on me with a group of people who loved on me and steered me toward further healing in my life.

God doesn’t use the burning bush anymore like He did with Moses. He gently guides us through people and circumstances around us and through His word and Holy Spirit within us. If we get so caught up in every cause around us, we will not be able to hear His voice clearly. We have to take time to step away alone with him and be clear where He wants us to go.

My challenge to you this week is to take time to pull back from all the busyness in your life and ask Jesus where He wants you to go.

Has Jesus been trying to get your attention?

Do you have an example of a time when God led you down a path that just didn’t make sense?

Please share so we all can learn.

2 thoughts on “Here a Cause, There a Cause

  1. Hey Tammy,
    Great post! God always has a purpose and a plan for the things He allows us to walk thru. So glad to meet you today! I can’t wait to start reading your book. I read the introduction. Look forward to seeing you again. I felt a sister closeness with you! Blessings! With love, Brenda

    • Hey Brenda, Thank you for your feedback. You are so right; God has reminded me again and again He has my best interest at heart! I felt the same closeness and look forward to when we can get together again. I can’t wait to read your book when it comes out. So excited to see how God will use your story! With love and admiration, Tammy

Leave a Reply

