You May Say I’m A dreamer

Photo courtesy of flickr creative commons by MrJamesAckerley

The song Imagine written by John Lennon invokes emotions deep within me. You see for all of my life, I’ve been a dreamer. I’ve dreamed there was something more out there, something fulfilling, something greater. After years of trying to make my dreams come true, I surrendered to the author of my dreams.

The memory is vivid. Kneeling by my bed, broken and feeling abandoned, I finally uttered the words the one who planted those dreams in my heart longed to hear. “Please take my dreams. If they aren’t what you created me for take them and show me what you’ve got.” Many of you may have heard this part of my story before, but the journey didn’t begin there. Surrender didn’t come until lies planted deep within my mind years before had been revealed and replaced with the truth.

For years the struggle between wanting to live big and wanting to die had wrecked me. Something deep within me cried out for help and it came. God led me on a journey to healing by taking me to the source where many of the lies I believed had been planted. He walked with me to those places of deep pain, revealed the lie and brought the truth. This process destroyed several strong-holds the enemy had been using to keep me stuck. They kept me stuck in destructive patterns, stuck without hope, and unable to trust God.

No matter how many Bible verses I knew or how much I wanted to, belief eluded me because the lies were hidden deep in my sub-conscious. They were impenetrable to my efforts. People would say things like, “you just have to have faith”, or “God loves you.” This left me feeling more condemned. The little voice in my head kept telling me there was something wrong with me if I couldn’t believe.

Once the lies were removed growth became possible. The idea of God loving me didn’t seem so impossible anymore. This was the foundation God used to begin the process of true freedom in my life.

If you find a gap between what you believe and what you know or if you struggle to believe at all, I urge you to ask God to show you where to start. God says in Matthew 7:7 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” Ask God to help you believe what you struggle to.

I would further recommend if you live in the Stuart, Florida area that you attend A Day of Transformation on Saturday, March 15th, 2014. This event is being hosted by my friend Stacie Buck and features other speakers to help you move toward truth. You can get details and register at http://www.diamondshapers.com/events/

Stacie and I have traveled similar paths toward healing. She uses her own journey of healing and self discovery as a teaching tool to help others identify the lies buried deep within holding them back from experiencing God’s best for their lives. She has written a book and a devotional which is being published next month; it contains valuable information regarding identifying the lies so you can receive truth.

If you can relate to the above experience on any level, I highly recommend you attend. This event could help you turn the corner and begin of a new life!

Further, I am offering a free ticket to the event and a copy of Stacie’s devotional Transformed: Scriptures for renewing the mind to one lucky winner. All you have to do, is share your struggle here as a comment on my blog and share it on your facebook page to be entered in a drawing to win. The drawing will take place on February 21, 2014, the day the early registration discount ends. Don’t miss your chance to win. If you’ve already registered, wouldn’t it be great to win a free ticket so you could bring a friend!

2 thoughts on “You May Say I’m A dreamer

  1. I don’t think there is anyone that can’t relate. I was always wondering what was wrong with me and often I too would feel condemned by the Word, not encouraged. I believed God’s Word in my head, but it was not in my heart. It was only after I identified false beliefs lurking under the surface that I was able to truly believe and receive God’s Word. Thank you for offering a ticket to the upcoming event to one of your readers. If someone wants to know why God’s Word isn’t working or why they feel disconnected, I believe that this event will provide some answers for them.

Leave a Reply

